Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Last year on my birthday, a beautiful bright teal ice cream maker was delivered to my house. I’m not necessarily a dessert person, per se, but I DO LOVE ICE CREAM. Yet, I could not recall ever telling anyone that I wanted to make my own. (Why make ice cream when Ben&Jerry’s / Haagen Dazs / Yogurtland do it better?!) Apparently in a google chat, I had (barely) mentioned that this creme brulee recipe sounded so delicious. From that one-liner, my three girlfriends pitched in to buy me this ice cream maker. At the time, I figured I would never use it – but with the summer months quickly approaching, I decided to give it a shot on Memorial Day Weekend. After unboxing, I quickly went out to buy ingredients for Rasberry Sorbet.

Recipe Below!Ice Cream Maker UnboxingIce Cream Maker 2Kids Love It!… even KIDS DIG IT!InstructionsShoesSet UpDetails

I need an immersion blender!? A!#%. Screw it. Strainer2“I am disappoint”Pouring

alice wears:
hi low open back ikat dress | f21 (similar)
ankle strap high heels | zara (similar here, in bling, & in red)
rings | f21 cut out ring + etsy square top rings
orange floral necklace | dillard’s c/o mom (similar orange baubles here & here)
teal ice cream maker | cuisinart
popsicles | trader joe’s

Ingredients
1.5 cups sugar
2 cups water
4 cups frozen raspberries
1 lemon (juiced)

Directions
1. Make simple sugar by bringing sugar and water to a boil in a medium saucepan over medium-high heat.
2. Reduce the heat and allow the mixture to simmer, without stirring, until the sugar dissolves, about 3 minutes. Set aside to cool completely.
3. Add raspberries to simple syrup.
4. Puree with immersion blender (which I did not have).
4. Press the raspberry puree through a strainer to remove the seeds. (I left some seeds and chunks in. Chunky, good).
5. Pour the mixture into an ice cream maker and squeeze 1 lemon while churning.
6. Freeze according to manufacturer’s instructions.
7. Sorbet is soft but I froze for 3 hours to firm up.

WORD OF CAUTION: if you read the ingredients – you still need to read the directions. I went out and bought raspberries and sugar for this super easy raspberry sorbet only to find out that I also needed an immersion blender. (SEE “I am disappoint” face above). Without it, I had to hand strain the entire mixture. When that didn’t work, I decided to tell everyone I made a chunky raspberry sorbet. Final Product

…and as Plan B, purchase raspberry lemon strawberry popscicles from Trader Joe’s. Popscicle

I have to admit, they’re almost as good as my sorbet. Almost.

Gorjana Sorbet

Linked up with Style Elixer‘s Style Sessions!

